Monday, March 2, 2009

35th Annual US Business Hall of Fame

35th Annual US Business Hall of Fame

Business Leaders from around the United States gather for a day-long series of events to honor the 2009 Inductees who have demonstrated vision & leadership while driving results for top U.S. brands.

Where: Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel

When: Thursday, March 5, 2009

Agenda of Events: 9:15 a.m
JA BizTown Tour

Leadership Luncheon
Grand Ballroom

Luncheon Keynote: Ralph de la Vega

With concerns about dropout rates and the economy, it’s important not to lose sight on the future and focus on helping young people prepare for their careers. That is the goal of Junior Achievement. And no one better to do that than Ralph de la Vega given his background.

Ralph’s remarkable journey to the head of one of the largest wireless companies in the world begins when he immigrated to the United States…alone…at the age of 10 from Cuba. All that he had in his possession was what he could fit in two suitcases. His parents would not follow for four more years.

From this humble beginning, Ralph has risen to the very highest ranks in American business and been at the forefront of the transformation of the country’s telecommunications industry.

Today, he is the CEO of AT&T Mobility and Consumer Markets. Previously, he served as President and CEO-AT&T Mobility where he was responsible for all of AT&T’s wireless business.
2:00 p.m.
The Competitive Challenge Forum
Keeping America Strong in a Turbulent Global Economy
Salon VI, Level 2

Who: Forum moderator Margaret Brennan, CNBC Reporter

Senator Dan Coats
Alex Sink-CFO, State of Florida Florida Chief Financial Officer
JA USA Board – Jim Rutrough – CAO- State Farm Insurance
Edward E. Whitacre – Chairman Emeritus, AT&T, Inc.

Forum Topics: Financial Literacy
Personal and Business Ethics
Work Readiness

6:00 p.m.
Lureate Reception
Grand Ballroom Foyer

These laureates epitomize the American entrepreneurial spirit while providing positive role models for the young people who would walk in their footsteps.

7 p.m.
Induction & Awards Ceremony
Grand Ballroom, 2nd Level
2009 Laureates:
Steve Case, co-founder, America Online, Inc.
Tim Gannon, Bob Basham and Chris Sullivan; co-founders, Outback Steakhouse
George W. Jenkins (1907-1996), founder, Publix Super Markets, Inc.
Muriel F. Siebert, founder and chairwoman, Muriel Siebert & Co., Inc.
Edward E. Whitacre Jr., chairman emeritus, AT&T

The U.S. Business Hall of Fame was founded by Junior Achievement in 1975, and has inducted 240 laureates to date. For more information about the event, visit

About JA Worldwide® (Junior Achievement)
Junior Achievement is the world's largest organization dedicated to inspiring and preparing young people to succeed in a global economy. Through a dedicated volunteer network, Junior Achievement provides in-school and after-school programs for students which focus on three key content areas: work readiness, entrepreneurship, and financial literacy. Today, 137 individual area operations reach more than four million students in the United States, with an additional five million students served by operations in 123 other countries worldwide. For more information, visit

1 comment:

Jackie Silver said...

Wow, this looks like an INCREDIBLE event!!! Great job!!